Banana, maple and walnut buns

I wasn’t going to bake yesterday, busy day with all sorts of things to do, no time for baking but I kept getting distracted by overripe bananas in my field of vision on the other side of the desk. Thought I may as well use them in something. I could have picked out a quick muffin or a banana bread recipe, only I love a bun (see here and here for bun love) and after spotting a good Banana, maple and pecan bun in Dan Lepard’s Short and Sweet decided that’s what I was going to do. Probably not the best thing to bake on a busy day as they take time but they are so good, I’m very glad I did them. Full of flavour, not too sweet and perfect with a cup of tea.

IMG_0772

 

Apart from bananas, walnuts (I didn’t have enough pecans) and maple, there is cinnamon, ground ginger, cocoa, raisins, dark muscovado sugar – in short, everything you’d want on a cold and rainy autumn afternoon. This is the thing about buns, you have one, still warm and everything seems to just be better. A good bun is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

