Peanut butter and honey granola

IMG_0718

 

I spend a fortune on granola/ muesli type takeaway breakfast at work, which is stupid really as granola takes no time to make and I usually have a stock of ingredients to make it with in the cupboard. Yet the thought to make it hadn’t occurred to me until recently (when I figured out how much I spend on bought stuff!) and the idea to use peanut butter as the binding came from Pinterest. I’d seen various recipes that use oil, sugar or lots of fruit juice, which again contains a lot of sugar and wanted to avoid those. Peanut butter and honey seemed a healthier combination.

As most recipes were in American cup measures, which I didn’t really fancy converting, I thought I’d start with 3 tablespoons each of honey and smooth peanut butter, warmed a little to soften, then poured the mix onto 300g rolled oats in a bowl and took it from there. I added other dry ingredients: 3 tablespoons of flaxseed and 4 each of pumpkin and sunflower seeds. The mix was a little dry so I also mixed in a bit of maple syrup and a little bit of plum and apple ribena I made the other day until I ended up with a crumble like topping, which I spread on a lined baking tray and baked in a fan assisted oven at 150C for 25 minutes (I gave the mix a turn half way through).

For breakfast, we had the granola with some honey roasted plums I made the other day, chopped walnuts and Greek yoghurt. Really good, crunchy, healthy and not too sweet. Now I just have to find a suitable container to take this to work.

Leave a Reply

