Abundance of plums

The other day H emails about an abundance of plums in his garden and would I like some. Of course I would! Not that I’ve any space to store jam, enough empty jars nor do Beloved and I have the capacity to eat so much jam (considering there’s still a bit of marmalade left and quite a bit of strawberry and gooseberry jams I made over summer). Anyway, a rather large bag of ripe Victoria plums awaited me at work on Monday morning and I’ve now managed to use it all up, which I’m super happy with. Here are some of the results:

IMG_0715

 

The dark colour of the jam comes from dark brown sugar – as the plums were ripe and I didn’t have time to go shopping for sugar, I just used what I had at home, which ended up being a mix of jam sugar and dark brown sugar. Also added blanched kernels from plum stones as per River Cottage Preserves handbook. Tastes great.

I then roasted half a kilo, drizzled with honey to use for ice cream, which I’ll hopefully make over the weekend. This left me with just over a kilo of plums, which, combined with a few apples in the fruit bowl, made a plum-bena or a cordial/ squash type thing, recipe from River Cottage again. This is just delicious and should keep for a few months.

Have really enjoyed making preserves this year, I’ve never made any before so it’s been a good learning experience. I wish I had more time and space to do savoury stuff, pickles, passata, chutneys… perhaps next year.

Leave a Reply

