Sourdough bread

IMG_0688

 

If I’m at home on Fridays, I usually make bread dough as soon as I wake up to give it plenty of time to prove. And, I sometimes forget ingredients, being as I’d only just woken up. So, yesterday morning, up bright and early, I add the flours (white and wholemeal bread flours to 3:2 ratio), I add my sourdough starter, I add the water and the salt (I sometimes forget the salt first thing in the morning) and knead the dough in the mixer. A little while later, I’ve shaped it and left it to rise then remembered that I wanted to make a quicker, yeast aided loaf only I’d totally forgotten to add a bit of yeast… Idiot. This loaf was going to take some time… It wasn’t actually ready until around 7pm last night but at least I’ve learnt that I can make sourdough without making the sponge the night before first. Granted, it expanded more in width rather than height but it looks good and the crumb looks and feels excellent too. Haven’t cut into it yet, will soon have some for breakfast with cold butter straight from the fridge and my homemade jams.

3 thoughts on “Sourdough bread

    • Thank you! I’ve an oatmeal sourdough recipe here https://mylogicisfuzzy.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/oatmeal-sourdough-loaf/ and a basic sourdough loaf here: https://mylogicisfuzzy.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/sourdough-loaf/. The one I made yesterday didn’t use a sponge first. Method: combine 300g white bread flour, 200g wholemeal bread flour, around 100/150g sourdough starter, teaspoon of salt and 300ml water. Knead for around 10 minutes by hand (until elastic) or 6 minutes in a mixer with a dough hook attachment. Oil your hands, shape into a round, then leave in an oiled bowl, covered, for about 4 hours. Deflate, shape into a round, put back into the bowl – then repeat this 3 more times. After 4 hours, deflate one more time, then roll up tightly, deflate one final time, blanket fold, shape into a loaf and leave to prove for about 3-4 hours. Preheat oven to 245/250C (I use a hot stone in the oven), bake for 10 minutes then turn the oven down to 180 and bake for another 30-35 minutes. Cool before cutting.

      Hope that helps, let me know if you need any more info

Leave a Reply

