Just read, A Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole

IMG_0606

 

I started reading A Confederacy of Dunces about 3 years ago and stopped just before I was half way through. Can’t remember exactly why, think I wasn’t quite in the right frame of mind for it. So I picked it up again last week, a friend told me he was reading and enjoying it and I thought it was about time I gave it another try. I read it from the beginning and was rather enjoying it and then, around the same point where I stopped three years ago, I found that I wasn’t enjoying it as much anymore. I did finish it this time and it is a good book but perhaps it was a bit too much of the same thing, perhaps it was too long, I just found it hard to sustain interest in the characters. In short, I was getting a little bored. Shame, many people find this book hilarious and I did laugh at certain bits but was somehow expecting more. There are some great characters and I guess my main problem was that they don’t really go anywhere in terms of development. They all get connected towards the end but then just disappear and I felt that there was potential for a bigger bang, more hilarity. Instead, the ending was a bit of a whimper. Perhaps I was on a bit of a high, having read some really fabulous books recently and I guess I would have liked it more if it followed some truly awful books.

Leave a Reply

