Flatbreads for a feast

I love broad beans and earmark good broad bean recipes to do when they’re in season. As it takes a while to pod, steam and skin them, they’re pretty much ‘weekend cooking’ only so yesterday afternoon I did a bit of a cookathon of lovely things to eat with Merguez lamb meatballs with broad beans from Hugh FW’s Three Good Things. I made Baba ganoush and Beetroot and walnut hummus from River Cottage Veg book and Flatbreads from River Cottage Bread Handbook. Here are the flatbreads with meatballs in the background:

IMG_0597

I made the dough for flatbreads early in the afternoon and then let it rise several times, while lamb was marinating and I got on with the dips. They were delicious and I managed to get 8 out of 500g flour total (250g each plain white and strong white). They puffed up beautifully, was rather proud so posting another photo:

IMG_0596 

Interestingly, the River Cottage flatbreads are quite different from the Casa Moro ones I did a few months back with minced lamb and pomegranate molasses, which were smaller and a bit thicker – although I think I’m better now at rolling them out thinner. I prefer these but would also like to try Dan Lepard’s recipe from Short and Sweet for comparison. 

2 thoughts on “Flatbreads for a feast

  1. in “Wild Food” Richard Mabey gives a recipe for Braod Bean humus which we all love.

Leave a Reply

