Blueberry and strawberry ‘muffins’

IMG_0591

 

These were really meant to be cupcakes but I didn’t fancy sugary icing so I just decided to go without and turn them into muffins. They are really very much like clouds, super light and very moreish. Recipe was from Dan Lepard’s Short and Sweet, and was only meant to have blueberries but I had a load of strawberries too so used half and half. The really interesting thing about these is that you make a meringue, which you beat in, not fold into the mix. I thought beating meringue in would kill off all the air, making the cake heavy and dense but not in this case. This is probably one of the lightest cakes I’ve ever made. Highly recommended.

The reason I had a load of strawberries this weekend was that we were going to see a friend with a sweet tooth and I’d decided to make him a cake. Strawberries coming into season, I thought perfect, there are bound to be some good strawberry cakes on the web. My search returned quite a lot of same old same old – nothing wrong with a tart with fresh strawberries on top but that’s not what I was looking for. I found a great looking cake on Pinterest but did not fancy working out the American measurements so, in the end, I found two decent strawberry cheesecake recipes that I sort of combined and adapted. The result was pretty fab but I didn’t get around to taking a photo. We left the cake with the friend, so Beloved got the blueberry and strawberry ‘muffins’ yesterday as a consolation. Think I’ll make the cheesecake again, no baking involved and it was actually fairly healthy too.

Leave a Reply

