Spelt bread

So preoccupied with writing the final essay for a course I’m doing that I hadn’t even thought about baking bread this morning. It suddenly dawned on me as I was switching the coffee machine on that it was Saturday and, yes, I’d planned to spend the whole day writing but bread would only really take a minute. I picked the Spelt bread from River Cottage Bread book as I knew the method would pretty much be the same as the last couple of breads I made from that book and here is the finished result:IMG_0579The book suggested a longer knead (8 minutes in the mixer as opposed to 6) and I ended up with a pretty elastic dough that shaped very well. Was super happy with the shape of the final loaf even if it did deflate a tad as I plonked it onto the peel and into the oven. Must be gentler next time. Here is the cut loaf,IMG_0580This also has sourdough starter as well as yeast, so it is a more robust bread that you can spread cold butter on and the crumb is very good too. Just used some for cucumber sandwiches to have with tea, kept the crusts. Very old fashioned but not particularly planned either – fridge is so empty as I’ve been spending all my time out of work either writing this stupid essay or sleeping, that cucumbers are pretty much the only vegetables I have!

Leave a Reply

