Little gem and spring onion tart

Having planned to spend Bank holiday Sunday walking, I made a big Little gem and spring onion tart from Hugh FW’s River Cottage Veg book in advance – I really do not like cooking after a long walk. This was perfect. The little gem lettuce still retained some bite, the pastry was light and short (milk, butter and flour, no water) and the creamy cheesy filling a proper comfort food after being out walking all day.

IMG_0564 I seem to be, thankfully, learning from past mistakes – last time I made a tart, I forgot that the tart case had a loose bottom and nearly destroyed the whole thing, this time I remembered to put a baking sheet underneath.

Leave a Reply

