Just read, Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut

Have to admit, war literature is not something I read frequently. It was on The Guardian’s 1,000 novels list so thought I should. Took me a while to get into Slaughterhouse 5 and I picked up one of bedside occasional reads, Angela Carter’s fairytale anthology instead, a million miles away from Slaughterhouse 5′ subject matter. I could see that Slaugherhouse 5 was a very good book, think the start just disoriented me a bit and when I picked it up again, I realised that it was deliberately written that way. Then I really got into it. It is a most excellent, thought provoking read.

IMG_0516It’s a very clever book too, manages to be funny while dealing with heavy stuff, the idiocy of war and destruction, the alienation. I don’t want to give out any of the plot, it is a short book that everyone should read, pacifists and gun aficionados alike, although it may not mean much to the latter. It is very powerful and while reading it I thought back of All Quiet on the Western Front, my grandmother’s fabric covered hardback, which I read many years ago and would love to read again.

As it happens, Slaugherhouse 5 is a recent addition to ‘pile of shame’, I wasn’t mean to be buying any books for a while but clearly have no self control. I now want to read more Kurt Vonnegut. So it goes.

3 thoughts on “Just read, Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut

  1. I read this maybe 20 years ago and recently read it again. The perspective gleaned from another 20 years of life left me open to enjoy the book a great deal more the second time, although If I’d enjoyed as much the first time I might have benefited more. So it goes.

  2. Pingback: Just read, The War of the World, Niall Ferguson | mylogicisfuzzy

Leave a Reply

