Christmas pudding

The first of the Christmas puddings this year, look at it aflame:

IMG_0477This was the first Christmas pudding I’ve ever made too, using Dan Lepard’s recipe from Short and Sweet. We had it a week ago at a family get together and everyone apart from the kids loved it. Many moons ago, when I first had English Christmas fare, I didn’t like Christmas pudding or mince pies either and, having been brought up not to leave food on the plate, I’d take the tiniest amount possible and never ask for seconds. Then I learned (thank you Delia!) that homemade mince meat can actually taste pretty good if you put nice things in it and that I can just about tolerate Christmas pudding. This one from Dan is really good though. I made Nigel Slater’s brandy butter to go with it, recipe here and I’d definitely recommend it – ground almonds and soft brown instead of icing sugar give it a really good taste.

The pudding was one of three I’ve made this year, also have a Plum Plum pudding from Dan for Christmas Day and another traditional Christmas one for another family get together but with slightly different ingredients – golden syrup instead of treacle and a different sugar (I think – I stupidly didn’t make notes as I made them!) so will try to see if this makes a difference to taste. Again, I used dried fruit that I like and no glace cherries! And, as we had our Christmas pudding last week, the sun was setting allowing for some great views of London:

IMG_0478These photos were taken with Nikon camera, don’t think iphone camera could have handled all those pud flames.

Leave a Reply

