Just read, Song of Achilles, Madeline Miller

20120802-213451.jpg

Having taken ages to read The Invention of Murder by Judith Flanders, I was really looking forward to reading some new fiction, Song of Achilles was recommended by several places and people and won Orange Prize. Could not wait to read it. So I read it in a couple of days. Thought it was underwhelming. Was frankly expecting more, perhaps something like Magaret Atwood’s Penelopiad, which I really enjoyed. There are so many amazing review extracts on the back and inside covers and elsewhere that it makes me think I am reading too much non fiction and perhaps expecting too much of a simple novel, it’s a passable summer read, I guess. Did not think Patroclus had a personality, which bugged me the most. As to ‘originality’, mentioned in some of the reviews, please see Margaret Atwood. I might go look up Homer.

Leave a Reply

